The Ela Township Board presented $1,500 college scholarships to Lake Zurich High School graduates at its July 14 meeting.

The Ela Township Board presented $1,500 college scholarships to Lake Zurich High School graduates at its July 14 meeting. Front row (L to R): Dante Manley, Matthew Shahwan, Evan Petropoulos, Trustee Gloria Palmblad, Sarah Gleich, Supervisor Lucy Prouty, Megan Kalafut, Kody Riehle, Nicole Lima and Jacob Kubin. Back row (L to R): Highway Commissioner Bill Kruckenberg, Trustee Larry Bowman, Clerk Bill Donnan, Trustee Joel Sikes, Assessor John Barrington and Trustee Lynn O’Brien. Students not pictured: John Cotter, Connor Doheny, Matthew Pappas and Christian Vanstedum.

Ela Township has awarded 12 Lake Zurich High School graduates college scholarships of $1,500 each.

The funds do not come from tax dollars, but from the permit fees the township collects from students who pay to park at Knigge Park during the school year.

“It’s a way to give back to the students,” said Supervisor Lucy Prouty, adding the awarding of college scholarships is one her favorite roles as township supervisor.

The students who received scholarships include:

John Cotter (DePaul University), Connor Doheny (Carthage College), Sarah Gleich (William Woods University), Megan Kalafut (Illinois State University), Jacob Kublin (Southeast Missouri State), Nicole Lima (University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign), Dante Manley (North Park University), Matthew Pappas (University of Minnesota Twin Cities), Evan Petropoulos (College of Lake County), Kody Riehle (College of Lake County), Matthew Shahwan (University of Wisconsin Whitewater), and Christian Vanstedum (Harper College).

Scholarships are awarded to students whose life experience (academic preparation, extra-curricular activities, community service, volunteer activities and work experience) most clearly demonstrate a desire to succeed and to make a positive contribution to Ela Township. The applicants must also submit an essay that describes their educational plans and career goals, how the scholarship would help them financially, and any extenuating circumstances that may have affected their academic performance.

Eight of the students awarded township scholarships were present at the July 14 Ela Township Board meeting to receive their scholarship along with a congratulatory plaque.

“I thank all the Ela Township Board who has done so much for our community. It’s great to have this money for college,” student Evan Petropoulos said.

Ela Township congratulates all of its worthy scholarship recipients and wishes them the best in their collegiate experience!