Trustee Joel Sikes, Highway Commissioner Bill Kruckenberg, Supervisor Gloria Palmblad, Judge Diane Winters, Clerk Lucy Prouty, Assessor John Barrington and Trustee Michael Jennings. Not pictured: Trustees Larry Bowman and Chris Bos, who were sworn-in on May 15, 2017.

Newly elected and re-elected Ela Township Board members were sworn-in at the May 11, 2017, board meeting by Judge Diane Winters.

They included new Supervisor Gloria Palmblad, who previously served as trustee; Clerk Lucy Prouty, who served three terms as supervisor; Trustees Joel Sikes and Michael Jennings; and Highway Commissioner Bill Kruckenberg. Trustees Larry Bowman and Chris Bos were sworn-in on May 15.

In appreciation of her outstanding service, loyalty and dedication, Palmblad presented Prouty with an engraved plaque with a gavel on behalf of Ela Township and its residents.

Outgoing Trustee Lynn O’Brien was gifted with an engraved vase of flowers in recognition of her dedicated service to the township. During her term, O’Brien served on the Senior Committee and also initiated a new Communications Committee, which she chaired. At her final board meeting on May 11, O’Brien said she hoped she had left a positive imprint on the township and was honored and thankful to have served.

“It’s been a privilege these past four years to serve the residents of Ela Township and to serve with all of you on the board.┬áMay God bless each and every one of you as you continue to serve the community,” she said.

Prouty also thanked outgoing Clerk Jan Flood Dowling for her service, stating she was “a pleasure to have in the office.” Dowling was appointed to the position following the retirement of Bill Donnan earlier this year.

“Thank you so much for allowing me the opportunity to be with you here on this board. I’ve learned so much and I feel really confident Ela Township is in good hands,” Dowling said.