Ela Township facilities are open to the public from 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Monday through Thursday, and from 8:00 A.M. to 1:00 P.M. on Friday.  Masks are optional for all visitors and staff regardless of vaccination status.  For more information and resources on Covid-19, please click here.
Townhall Sign

Ela Township Board

Elected Officials


Supervisor's Office
1155 East IL-22
Lake Zurich, IL 60047
Monday - Thursday 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.
Friday: 8:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed
Township Board 5.2022


The Ela Township Board consists of seven elected officials, each with a duty to perform.

  • Supervisor: Serves as chief executive officer of the township whose duties and responsibilities includes serving as chairman of the board of trustees, administer a general assistance program and serve as treasurer of all funds including town, general assistance, cemetery, road and park maintenance.
  • Clerk: Duties include keeping of all township records, attend board meetings and record roll call votes. The clerk writes the minutes for each board meeting and maintains all records of executive sessions.
  • Assessor: The assessor’s responsibility includes a mass appraisal of all taxable property within the township which includes three fundamental duties: discover, list and value all new construction within their jurisdiction; ensure existing property is valued at the appropriate statutory level of market value, and assure that similar property is valued in a uniform manner
  • Trustees (4): The four trustees along with the township supervisor comprise the township board. Trustees are responsible for approving all Township expenses and auditing all bills submitted for payment. This board’s duties include adopting the annual town budget and appropriation ordinance and certify the tax levies for town and road.

All township officials are elected for a term of four years.

Close window